Unchanged Tigers squad for 2nd T20I against Sri Lanka | 2018-02-16 | daily-sun.com

Unchanged Tigers squad for 2nd T20I against Sri Lanka

Sun Online Desk     16th February, 2018 09:21:52 printer

Unchanged Tigers squad for 2nd T20I against Sri Lanka

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced unchanged squad for the 2nd and last match of the Rocket two-match T20I series against touring Sri on Sunday (Feb 18) at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.


The last day-night match of the series will kick off at 5pm local time. 


Like the first match, Mahmudullah Riyad will lead the Tigers in absence of injured regular Captain Shakib Al Hasan as the world famed all-rounder failed to fully recover yet from his finger injury which he had sustained during the ODI series, reports UNB.


Both the Bangladesh and Sri Lankan team reached Sylhet on Friday afternoon to play the 2nd T20I.


Islanders Sri Lanka poised for clinching another series victory after taking 1-0 lead in the two-match T20I series beating Bangladesh by six wickets with a chase record in the first match in Mirpur on Thursday, denying Tigers ever-highest T20I total 193 for 5 featuring two career best T20 scores by Mushfiqur Rahim (66) and Soumya Sarkar (51). 


The previous highest score of Bangladesh was 190 for 5 against Ireland in Belfast on July 18 in 2012.  


Chandika Haturasingha’s new look Sri Lanka clinched the Tri-nation title beating Bangladesh in the final and also won the two-match Test series 1-0 beating Tigers in the 2nd Test within  two and half day. 


Earlier, the BCB announced a 15-member Tigers’ squad to play the first T20 International including five uncapped cricketers - Afif Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Ariful Hoque, Zakir Hasan and Abu Jahed.


Later, uncapped left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu, who performed well in the domestic cricket, particularly in the BPL throughout the last three seasons, has been called up to the squad to replace Shakib Al Hasan.


Bangladesh Cricket Board also included top order batsman Mohammad Mithun dramatically in the dying moment last Wednesday as reliable opening batsman Tamim Iqbal was suffering from light injury.


Bangladesh squad for the first T20I: Mahmudullah (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarker, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jahed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu and Mohammad Mithun.


Meanwhile, 17,000 tickets of the Sylhet Stadium out of 18,000 already sold out online within only one hour of opening on Friday.