Bangladesh restrict Zimbabwe to 170 | 2018-01-15 |

Bangladesh restrict Zimbabwe to 170

Sun Online Desk     15th January, 2018 03:32:04 printer

Bangladesh restrict Zimbabwe to 170

Zimbabwe lost all wickets to score 170 runs against Bangladesh in the tri-nation series opener at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Monday.


Shakib Al Hasan picks up three wickets while Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain bag two each to restrict the visitors.


Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bowl first .


With the mach, the Mirpur cricket ground will become only the sixth venue to host 100 ODI matches.


This is going to be the first tri-nation series hosted by Bangladesh since January 2010 and the Mashrafe and Co will be looking to extend their good record against Zimbabwe after winning most of the matches and series in the past years, offering a shot at redemption after a recent nightmare tour in South Africa.


  A positive start will be ideal given the compact nature of the series, which also features Sri Lanka, with each team playing four matches in two weeks culminating with the final on January 27.


A loss would be an embarrassment for the Bangladeshis, who must negotiate Zimbabweans if they are to make a run for the final.


The home side, without a coach since South Africa series last year, have been dominated at home turf under the leadership of Mashrafe since the beginning of their former coach Chandika Hathurusingha’s era.


Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Anamul Haque, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 6 Nasir Hossain, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Rubel Hossain, 10 Sunzamul Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman