National Cricket: Khulna Division retain title with unbeaten record | 2017-12-23 |

National Cricket: Khulna Division retain title with unbeaten record

Sun Online Desk     23rd December, 2017 09:55:22 printer

National Cricket: Khulna Division retain title with unbeaten record

Khulna Division retained the Tier-1 crown of the Walton National Cricket League (NCL) with unbeaten record outplaying Dhaka Division by innings and 49 runs on the 4th and last day of the 6th and final last round of the first class cricket league at BKSP ground in Savar on Saturday.


Another Tier-1 match between Rangpur Division and Barisal Division ended in a draw on the 4th and final day at Shaheed Kamaruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi.


After the final round of the four-team Tier-1 league, Khulna Division clinched the prestigious national cricket league title for the 3rd time in a row, overall their 6th, securing 25 points with two wins while Rangpur Division finished distant runners-up collecting 12 points and Barisal Division and Dhaka Division followed them with 10 points respectively.    


Replying to Khulna Division’s mammoth first innings total of 459 for 8 declared featuring 202 runs by Anamul Haque and 177 runs by Mahedy Hasan, Dhaka Division, which were dismissed cheaply for 113 runs in the first innings, resumed the 2nd innings on the final day (Saturday) with their overnight total of 169 for 4 and were all out for 297 runs in 99.5 overs to suffer the humiliating defeat.


Number four batsman Taibur Rahman, who was on batting with 35 runs, completed a half century scoring 51 runs off 144 balls, featuring five fours and one six while Nadif Chowdhury, who was on batting with 2 runs, contributed 82-ball 43 runs, hitting four fours and two sixes. Lower order batsman Mohammad Sharif added 61-ball 47 runs with the help of six fours and one six.


National cricketer Mehedy Hasan Miraz, who made his career best seven-wicket haul in the first innings, also grabbed three wickets for 89 runs in the 2nd innings and was adjudged the player of the match.


National pacer Rubel Hossain also claimed three wickets for 64 runs and veteran spinner Abdur Razzak took two for 89 runs.


In the other Tier-1 match, replying to Barisal Division’s 1st Innings total of 335 all out, Rangpur Division resumed the 1st innings with a mammoth overnight total of 570 for 5 in 166 overs on Saturday featuring 368 runs in the 5th wicket partnership by two centurions Nasir and Ariful Haque and they finally declared the first innings at 614 for 7 in 176.3 overs.


National all-rounder Nasir Hossain, who was on batting with 270 runs, unfortunately missed the long-cherished triple century as he went back to the pavilion being caught by Fazle Mahmud off a Linkon Dey delivery hammering 295 runs off 510 balls, hitting 32 fours and three sixes. Night watchman Dhiman Ghosh (5) scored 16 runs.


Monir Hossain captured three wickets for 151 runs while Kmarul Islam Rabbi took two for 134 runs.


In reply, Barisal Division opened the 2nd innings and scored 217 for 4 in 62 overs with one down Salman Hossain making 61, middle order Mosaddek Hossain not out 50, opener Fazle Mahmud 37 and another opener Rafsan Mahmud 35 and Al Amin 16 runs.


Tanvir Hyder captured two wickets for 77 runs.