BPL second qualifier match between Rangpur and Comilla will resume Monday | 2017-12-10 | daily-sun.com

BPL second qualifier match between Rangpur and Comilla will resume Monday

Sun Online Desk     10th December, 2017 11:03:14 printer

BPL second qualifier match between Rangpur and Comilla will resume Monday

Drizzle interrupted the second qualifier match of BPL between Comilla Victorians and Rangpur Riders. The game will resumue on Monday (tomorrow) from where it left off.


Asked to bat first by Comilla, Rangpur scored 55 for one in 7 overs at rain forced to stop the play with Johnson Charles (46 n.o) and Brendon McCullum (4 n.o) on the crease.


Obviously, some landmark decisions come from the tournament officials and both captains have eventually decided to play this game out tomorrow.


Mashrafe says: "You know, no team should be going out because it's a wash out, especially in a semi-final. It's not a thing about the board and so on, it's the best news for cricket. Playing conditions are important, since we don't want to get injured ahead of Bangladesh's tri-series tour. Many thanks to Tamim for honouring this decision and for the sake of BPL we will play tomorrow. Has been a fantastic tournament."


Tamim says: "It's okay, if any other team would've been in our shoes, even they would've done the same as us. For the sake of the BPL, we will have a game tomorrow, so it's all good. For tomorrow, we can plan better now. Only 12 overs to bowl for us. Whoever starts well tomorrow, will do better."


Comilla Victorians captain Tamim Iqbal chose to bowl first against Rangpur Riders in the second qualifier of AKS Bangladesh premier league T20 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur in Dhaka.


Both teams made one change each. Rangpur brought in seamer Isuru Udana in place of Lasith Malinga, who returned to Sri Lanka for personal reasons. Comilla picked Zimbabwe legspinner Graeme Cremer in place of allrounder Dwayne Bravo.


Rangpur Riders: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Brendon McCullum, 4 Mohammad Mithun, 5 Ravi Bopara, 6 Nahidul Islam, 7 Rubel Hossain, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza, 9 Nazmul Islam, 10 Isuru Udana, 11 Sohag Gazi


Comilla Victorians: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Imrul Kayes, 4 Jos Buttler, 5 Marlon Samuels, 6 Shoaib Malik, 7 Hasan Ali, 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Graeme Cremer, 10 Al-Amin Hossain, 11 Mohammad Saifuddin