Khulna Titans win tough battle against Rangpur Riders | 2017-11-24 |

Khulna Titans win tough battle against Rangpur Riders

Sun Online Desk     24th November, 2017 06:15:00 printer

Khulna Titans win tough battle against Rangpur Riders

Rangpur Riders conceded 9 runs defeat as they managed to score 149 for six against Khulna Titans in 25th match of this year’s Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Friday in Chittagong.


Rangpur Riders fall back in the second over when Brendon McCullum departed early adding 2 runs on the board. Chris Gayle commenced well with 2 exquisite boundaries and a 106 meter six but was caught by Pooran in the deep off the delivery of Abu Jayed after scoring 16 (9 balls).


The 104 run partnership between Ravi Bopara and Nahidul Islam went in vain though both of them reached into their half centuries.


Khulna Titans scored 158 for 8 riding on a brilliant knock of Mahmudullah (51 off 32) against Rangpur Riders.


Earlier, Rangpur Riders won the toss and elected to field first. With this match the Chittagong phase of BPL started which will end on 29th of November.


There are two changes in Rangpur Riders eleven with the inclusion of Fazle Mahmud and Nahidul Islam to replace Shahriar Nafees and Ziaur Rahman who played for 3 runs victory in their last game in Dhaka.


Khulna brought three changes, calling Nicholas Pooran, Jofra Archer and Tanvir Islam in place of Chadwick Walton, Seekugge Prasanna and Shafiul Islam.


Khulna Titans defeated Rajshahi Kings by 2 wickets in their last match for their 4th victory in this edition BPL while Rangpur Riders managed their 3rd victory in the league upsetting defending champions Dhaka Dynamites by 3 runs in their last match in Dhaka on November 21 with which the 16-match involving 2nd phase of the league was wrapped up.


Rangpur Riders: Brendon McCullum, Lasith Malinga, Ravi Bopara, Thisara Perera, Chris Gayle, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Md. Mithun (wk), Rubel Hossain, Shohag Gazi, Fazle Rabbi, Nahidul Islam


Khulna Titans: Mahmudullah (c), Ariful Haque, Junaid Khan, Nazmul Hossain, Abu Jayed, Afif Hossain, Jofra Archer, Carlos Brathwaite, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Rilee Rossouw, Tanvir Islam