Khulna Titans score 156 for 5 against Dhaka Dynamites | 2017-11-14 |

Khulna Titans score 156 for 5 against Dhaka Dynamites

Sun Online Desk     14th November, 2017 03:22:25 printer

Khulna Titans score 156 for 5 against Dhaka Dynamites

Khulna Titans, riding on half century by West Indian batsman Carlos Brathwaite, scored a moderate 156 for 5 in stipulated 20 overs against Dhaka Dynamites in the 5th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 Cricket at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday.


Earlier, Dhaka Dynamites won the toss and decided to bowl first against Khulna Titans.


Batting first, Khulna Titans lost three early wickets -- Michael Klinger (10), Dhiman Ghosh (2) and Nazmul Hossain Shanta (24) -- for 46 runs in 9.4 overs. Their misery further consolidated with the dismissal of captain Mahmudullah (14), leaving the team total 71 for 4 in 12.2 overs.


But number six batsman Carlos Brathwaite guided the team toward a moderate total quick-firing an unbeaten 64 runs off just 29 balls, featuring four fours while number four South African batsman Rilee Rossouw scored 30-ball 34 runs, hitting three boundaries.


Ariful Haque remained not out 4 runs.


Abu Hider Rony grabbed two wickets for 40 runs while former Pakistani captain Shahid Afridi, captain Shakib Al Hasan and Sunil Narine took one wicket each. Titas Dhaka Dynamites made one change in their previous line up including one extra batsman Nadif Chowdhury dropping pacer Mohammad Shahid while Khulna have made two changes including Akila Dananjaya and wicketkeeper Dhiman Ghosh replacing . Chadwick Walton and Mosharraf Hossain


Both the teams won their previous as Dhaka Upset league leader Sylhet Sixers by eight wickets Khulna Titans beat Chittagong Vikings by 18 runs.


Dhaka Dynamites: Evin Lewis, Shahid Afridi, Cameron Delport, Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Mosaddek Hossain, Nadif Chowdhury, Jahurul Islam (wk), Abu Hider Rony and Khaled Ahmed


Khulna Titans: Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Michael Klinger, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah (capt), Dhiman Ghosh (wk), Akila Dananjaya, Ariful Haque, Carlos Brathwaite, Jofra Archer, Shafiul Islam and Abu Jayed.