Bashundhara chairman gets Kar Bahadur Paribar award | 2017-11-09 |

Bashundhara chairman gets Kar Bahadur Paribar award

Staff Correspondent     9th November, 2017 11:14:45 printer

Bashundhara chairman gets Kar Bahadur Paribar award

Ahmed Akbar Sobhan

Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan and his family have received ‘Kar Bahadur Paribar’ award, an accolade for the families paying noteworthy income tax, from the National Board of Revenue.


The family of the Bashundhara Group chairman is among the 84 families from across the country to get the honour.


Finance Minister AMA Muhith handed over the Kar Bahadur Paribar (tax icon families) awards at a gala ceremony at the new NBR office in the capital’s Agargaon area on Wednesday. The revenue authorities also recognised 658 highest taxpayers, including 141 long-term taxpayers, at the event.


Bashundhara Group is country’s one of the leading business and industrial conglomerates. The Group has under it entities in sectors including real estate, cement, paper and allied products, liquefied petroleum gas, food and beverage, mass media, shipping, aviation, logistics, infrastructure development, and operation of shopping mall and convention centres.


According to officials in Bashundhara Group, the conglomerate believes in serving the people and the country; not only in doing business and making profit. It came into existence with that belief and adopted ‘For the People, For the Country’ as its core theme.


Bashundhara Group concern East West Media Group Ltd (EWMGL) received the best taxpayer award in print and electronic media category this year.


NBR has introduced the Kar Bahadur Paribar award this year to encourage people to contribute more to the national exchequer.


Sixteen of the Kar Bahadur families are based in Dhaka and eight in Chittagong. All other districts except Rangamati and Khagrachhari have one Kar Bahadur family each.


State Minister for Finance and Planning MA Mannan, Chairman of the Standing Committee on Finance Ministry Abdur Razzak, NBR Chairman Md Nojibur Rahman, lawmaker Quazi Rosy, FBCCI President Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin, among others, were also present at the award handing over ceremony.