Titans stop Sixers, get 6-wkt win | 2017-11-09 | daily-sun.com

Titans stop Sixers, get 6-wkt win

Sun Online Desk     9th November, 2017 12:47:09 printer

Titans stop Sixers, get 6-wkt win

Khulna Titans got their maiden win in the 5th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 beating table toppers Sylhet Sixers by 6 wickets in the 8th match of the tournament at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.


Replying to Sylhet’s innings of 135/5, Khulna Titans shored their vessel to the destination scoring 138 for 4 in 18 overs to break the all-win record of Sylhet so far with three consecutive victories.


Michael Klinger played a perfect innings of 47* off 36 balls, including five boundaries, when sharing an unbeaten partnership of 45 off 4.4 overs with Carlos Brathwaite in the 5th wicket stand which stayed till the end, starting from 93/4 in 13.2 overs after skipper Mahmudullah Riyad’s dismissal.


Man of the match Mahmudullah stayed for 27 off 23 balls, including one six and one six, while Brathwaite (23* off 16b; 2x6), Rilee Rossouw (19 off 17b; 3x4) and Chadwick Walton (11 off 7b; 1x4; 1x6) were the other double digit scorers for Khulna, who lost their first match by 65 runs against defending champions Dhaka Dynamites.


Taijul Islam captured three wickets for 19 runs while Ross Whiteley took another one for 10 runs. 


Sent in to bat first, Sylhet finished on 135 for 5 in 20 overs where skipper Nasir Hossain played an unbeaten innings of 47* off 35 balls, including five boundaries.


In the 5th wicket stand, Nasir shared a partnership of 47 off 7.2 balls with Ross Whiteley,  who got out on 124/5 in 18.3 overs, scoring 27 off 23 balls, including one four and one six.


Khulna dismissed two of Sylhet’s top order batsmen -- Andre Fletcher and Sabbir Rahman – with the score on 20 off 3.3 overs.


Opener Upul Tharanga held his nerve up to 8.1 overs before skipper Mahmudullah Riyad found him on 51/3.  


Then, Nasir came into crease to pair Danushka Gunathilaka, but Mahmudullah soon got rid of Gunathilaka on 67/4 in 11.1 overs.


Tharanga (26 off 24b; 3x4) and Gunathilaka (26 off 25 b; 3x4; 1x6) were the other double digit scorers for Sylhet.


Mahmudullah and Jofra Archer got two wickets each for 12 and 25 runs respectively, while Shafiul Islam took one for 20 runs.


Despite the day’s loss, Sylhet Sixers hold on to the top slot of the table collecting six points from four encounters.  Khulna Titans have come one step up from bottom place with two points from two matches. 


The seven-team tournament’s campaign at Sylhet venue ended with the day’s match and it will move to Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka for the next 16 matches beginning November 11.


Fixture for the next 16 matches of Dhaka venue:


Date                Team              vs                     Team


November 11:  Rangpur Riders     vs     Rajshahi Kings

            Dhaka Dynamites   vs     Sylhet Sixers


November 12: Chittagong Vikings     vs     Khulna Titans

           Rajshahi Kings            vs     Comilla Victorians


November 14: Dhaka Dynamites     vs     Khulna Titans

          Comilla Victorians    vs     Chittagong Vikings


November 15: Khulna Titans         vs     Sylhet Sixers

           Dhaka Dynamites   vs     Chittagong Vikings


November 17: Rajshahi Kings     vs     Sylhet Sixers

            Khulna Titans       vs     Chittagong Vikings


November 18: Dhaka Dynamites     vs     Rajshahi Kings

           Rangpur Riders        vs     Comilla Victorians


November 20: Dhaka Dynamites     vs     Comilla Victorians

                        Sylhet Sixers             vs     Rangpur Riders


November 21: Rajshahi Kings     vs     Khulna Titans

                        Dhaka Dynamites vs     Rangpur Riders