Rangpur Riders look for change in fortune | 2017-11-02 | daily-sun.com

BPL 2017 Team Preview

Rangpur Riders look for change in fortune

Adnan Hadi     1st November, 2017 10:43:18 printer

Rangpur Riders look for change in fortune

The blockbuster Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 tournament is generally known for the money involved and the cricket stars who enthrall the spectators with their performance.

The money-spinning Bangladesh Premier League is all set to return for its fifth edition on November 4 and Rangpur Riders, one of the popular cricket sensations of BPL, is going to start its fresh journey under the care of country’s leading industrial and business conglomerate Bashundhara Group.

Owned by young and dynamic Safwan Sobhan Tasvir, Vice-Chairman of the Bashundhara Group, Rangpur Riders, is one of the hot-favourite teams of BPL this year on paper as their owner is taking care of all the departments, each of which is brimming with top performers.

Rangpur's story last year reflect a journey which started off on a bright note but didn't yield the desired result. The Riders were in almost unassailable position to reach the play-offs but their campaign collapsed in the last stage. As a result, Rangpur Riders failed to qualify for the super 4 battle.


But this year, the cricket fans will see a roar from a new-look Rangpur Riders side under the leadership of country’s most successful captain Mashrafe Mortaza and Coach Tom Moody’s guidance in the 5th season of BPL starting from November four. Rangpur are studded with T20 specialists who can turn the tide in no time.


With just one day left in the BPL season five to begin, the team look solid with the big guns likes of Brendon McCullum, Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga and Mashrafe Mortaza, who are looking ready to roar even louder this time for Rangpur.


Fearless and still young, Mashrafe has been BPL’s most talismanic leader since its inception. His BPL statistics speak volumes and evidence the fact that he will play a crucial rule in Rangpur’s success this winter. He has played the most matches in BPL and his leadership won Dhaka Gladiators and Comilla Victorians in the previous editions of BPL.


It might be their first tournament under new owner, but led by Mashrafe, Rangpur comprise some of the most formidable players from across the globe.


They have a brilliant line-up including master-blaster Gayle, McCullum, Shahriar Nafees, Johnson Charles, Mohamad Mithun, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Malinga, Mashrafe, Rubel Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak while Samuel Badree, Ebadat Hossain and Adam Lyth will provide a lot of strength to their attack. Rangpur will launch their BPL-5 campaign in the second match of the tournament against Rajshahi Kings on November 4 at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. The team has already reached in Sylhet and will start practice from today.


With so many match-winners in one team, it could be a great season for the Riders.


Rangpur Riders Team

Local players: Mashrafe Mortaza (Icon), Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Shahriar Nafees, Nazmul Opu, Ziaur Rahman, Fazle Rabbi, Abdur Razzak, Ebadat Hossain, Ilias Sunny, Nahidul Islam

Foreign recruits: Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Lasith Malinga, Robi Bopara, David Willy, Samuel Badree, Johnson Charles, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera, Adam Leith, Samiullah Senwari, Zahir Khan and Sam Hein.