Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Player Award | 2017-10-24 |

Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Player Award

Sun Online Desk     24th October, 2017 02:15:51 printer

Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Player Award

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo was named the 2017 Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year at a star-studded ceremony in London on Monday.


The Portuguese ace, who has scored 44 goals in just 48 games for club and country so far this calendar year, played a major role in Real winning both La Liga and the Champions League.


He scored twice in a 4-1 win over Juventus in the continental final at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on June 3.


He was declared as the winner of this prestigious award on at 8:55pm BST Monday at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in London.


Ronaldo won the inaugural Best FIFA men's player of the year award last year following the end of a six-year merger between the FIFA honour and the Ballon D'Or.


This year he saw off competition from longstanding Barcelona rival Lionel Messi and Paris Saint-Germain's Neymar, with former Manchester United favourite Ronaldo receiving his trophy from Argentina great Diego Maradona and Brazil's Ronaldo in a star-studded ceremony at the London Palladium theatre.


Ronaldo thanked Real Madrid supporters, his teammates, his coach as they support all the year.


"Thanks a lot for voting for me," said the Portuguese superstar.


"I mention Leo and Neymar, great to be here. Real Madrid supporters, my team-mates, my coach, they all support me all year.


"I'm really glad. This is a great moment for me. I know I have fans all over the world so thank you for the support. I appreciate that.


"We are in England for the first time and I win consecutive awards," he added. "I am really glad, this is a great moment for me. I have fans all over the world."


"And I think I say everything. It's great to be here around these great players, this amazing player and I'm so happy guys. Thank you everybody and good night."


Real boss Zinedine Zidane took the corresponding manager of the year award, with the Spanish giants providing five players in the FIFA team of the year.