Who wins best FIFA football awards 2017 | 2017-10-24 | daily-sun.com

Who wins best FIFA football awards 2017

Sun Online Desk     24th October, 2017 01:32:37 printer

Who wins best FIFA football awards 2017

FIFA will hold its annual The Best FIFA Football Awards event on Monday in London.


Now in its second year, the ceremony recognises the best of men's and women's football over the previous season.


Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar and Lionel Messi were revealed as the final three contenders for the Men's Player of the Year award.


Cristiano Ronaldo looks set to successfully defend his crown in the Men's Player of the Year category.


The Men's Player of the Year award started with a 24-man shortlist drawn by a group of 'FIFA legends' that includes Diego Maradona, Cafu and Carles Puyol.


The shortlist was then voted on between August 21 and September 7 by national team coaches, national team captains, selected media and fans, with each of the four voting categories weighted evenly.


The top three was revealed on September 22, with the winner set to be announced at the ceremony on October 23.


This year's awards ceremony will take place on Monday, October 23, 2017 at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in London, with coverage beginning at 16:30 BST.


The ceremony will be hosted by actor Idris Elba and Studs Up presenter Layla-Anna Lee, and will also feature a performance by the band Kasabian.


Current and former footballers Roberto Di Matteo, Jay-Jay Okocha, Alex Scott, Andriy Shevchenko and Peter Shilton revealed the final three candidates for each of the main individual awards - as well as the shortlist of 10 for the Puskas Award - on September 22.


The main individual award categories are: Men's Player, Women's Player, Men's Coach, Women's Coach and Goalkeeper.


In addition, there are the Fair Play, Fan and Puskas - for the best goal of the year - awards, as well as the FIFPro World XI.


The Best FIFA Football Awards are annual awards presented by FIFA to the game's top players and coaches.


The awards were launched in 2016 to replace the Ballon d'Or. The Ballon d'Or will still be presented by the magazine France Football but it will no longer be in partnership with FIFA, who will instead hand out their own prizes.


Cristiano Ronaldo and Carli Lloyd were the first recipients of the main men's and women's awards respectively.