18 parties for JS dissolution, 10 for supportive election-time govt | 2017-10-22 | daily-sun.com

18 parties for JS dissolution, 10 for supportive election-time govt

Sun Online Desk     22nd October, 2017 08:13:43 printer

18 parties for JS dissolution, 10 for supportive election-time govt

Some 18 parties recommended dissolution of parliament before the announcement of schedule for the 11th general election while 1o parties proposed non-party or supportive election-time government.


These major recommendations came out during the two-month long dialogue with political parties at the Election Commission (EC).


Besides, Basod proposed relieving MPs of their posts with the announcement of the election schedule.


During the talks, thirty out of the 40 registered parties placed their respective opinions over the formats of the polls-time government though the Commission has no authority to determine the framework of the polls-time government.


They mainly placed four formats of the election-time government -- a non-party or neutral supportive government, all party-government, the existing government, and the polls-time government bringing some key ministries under the EC.


Taking part in the dialogue, BNP proposed formation of an election-time neutral supportive government while Awami League remained silent over the issue and main opposition Jatiya Party suggested an all-party parliamentary government with representatives from the parties having representation in existing 10th parliament.


Eight political parties proposed brining the key ministries like home, public administration, local government and defence under the authority of the Election Commission during the election.


The parties are Bangladesh Islami Front, Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish, Bangladesh Sanskritik Muktijote (Muktijote), Workers Party of Bangladesh, Ershad-led Jatiya Party, Ganotontri Party and Biplabi Workers Party.


Ershad-led Jatiya Party recommended brining local government, public administration and home ministries under the EC d through bringing necessary amendment to the Constitution.


Biplabi Workers Party also suggested that the EC should play the role of a supervising government during the election.


At least 10 parties, including BNP, proposed formation of a non-party or neutral supportive government. Some of them suggested restoration of caretaker government, while some others want a neutral government with retired credible government officials and noted personalities.


Six other political parties, including main opposition Jatiya Party, placed proposals for formation of all-party polls-time parliamentary government either representatives from the parties having representation in Parliament or from all the registered parties.


Of them, BNF suggested formation of the all-party government with representatives from the parties having representation in the existing Parliament, and participation of BNP representatives as its technocrat members.


Besides, five parties placed their stances on the arrangement of the election under the existing government, but some of them suggested that the election-time government perform only routine works refraining from taking any policy-making decision.


CPB suggested reducing the authority of the election-time government while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) opined for formation of an election-time government, but JSD did not specify its type.


Though Bikalpadhara Bangladesh did not place any proposal over the polls-time government, its chief Dr AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury told reporters after the meeting that they would place a proposal for formation of an all-party government with representatives from the parties that had representation in 9th parliament.


The EC on August 24 started its dialogue with the political parties to seek their opinions over the Commission's preparation for arrangement of the next national election likely to be held in December 2018.


All the 40 registered parties joined the two-month talks that concluded on Thursday last.