Australia win toss, bat against India in ODI | 2017-10-01 |

Australia win toss, bat against India in ODI

Sun Online Desk     1st October, 2017 02:51:24 printer

Australia win toss, bat against India in ODI

Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth and final one-day international against India in Nagpur on Sunday.


The visitors, who are trailing the five-match series 3-1, were forced to make one change with fast bowler Kane Richardson falling sick.


All-rounder James Faulkner replaces Richardson in the starting line-up. Australia scored 334-5 to win the fourth ODI by 21 runs this week in Bangalore.


"It was nice to win the last one, I thought we batted pretty well to get 300 on the board. We'd like to replicate that today and get a big (score)," Smith said at the toss.


Virat Kohli-led India, who need a win to hold on to their world number one ODI ranking, have made three changes after their loss in Bangalore.


Fast bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav return to the XI in place of Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.


"Incentives are plenty. Every time we step onto the field, we get an opportunity to do well. We need to focus on every game and come back hard," said Kohli.




India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.


Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa.


mpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA) and CK Nandan (IND)


TV Umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)


Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)


Source: AFP