Mehedi breaks threatening opening stand | 2017-04-01 |

Mehedi breaks threatening opening stand

Sun Online Desk     1st April, 2017 11:39:36 printer

Mehedi breaks threatening opening stand

Bangladesh spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz removed Sri Lankan opener Gunathilaka in the 11th over of series decider third and final ODI at Colombo’s Sinhalese Sports Club on Saturday.


Sri Lanka scored 79 for one after 12 overs.


Upul Tharanga and Kusal Mendis are on batting, scoring 32 off 30 and 1 run off 4 balls respectively.


Earlier, Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bowl first.


Bangladesh are unchanged. Prasanna comes in for Nuwan Pradeep for Sri Lanka.


The visiting Bangladesh now have a golden chance to script history in Lankan soil by sealing first ever ODI series victory when they take on Sri Lanka in the series decider third and final.


The two sides are set to meet for the 41st time in ODI at 10:30 am (Bangladesh time).


The three-match One-Day International series commenced with Bangladesh winning the first ODI in dominating way.


The second ODI was abandoned due to excessive rain after Sri Lanka made a commanding total of 311.


With the washout at Dambulla in the second ODI, Tigers has no chance to lose the series but now they can fancy themselves for the final ODI and that possibility may just give them extra springs when they play their subcontinental neighbours Sri Lanka today.


Ahead of the tough but not impossible equation, confident Mashrafe Mortaza’s men are on the verge of sealing rare win in away ODI series, just their fifth away series and first against Sri Lanka.


If the Tigers win today’s game, that will be their second away series win against a major Test-playing nation. Bangladesh have only ever beaten fellow-strugglers Zimbabwe and an under strength West Indies team in an away series.


But in home conditions, they have enjoyed a fine run of form lately, winning five consecutive series in the past two years before narrowly losing to England in last October.


The visitors’ clinical performance in first ODI will give them a lot of confidence whereas the Lankans will be desperately looking for redemption in the do-or-die game. The crowd will be expecting a thrilling encounter at Colombo Stadium as both teams look to accomplish different objectives and end the series on a high note.


And there seems to be little that can stop the Mashrafe-led Bangladesh team from clinching the series 2-0 today, unless the Bangladesh familiar Upul Tharanga’s side can shrug off the horrors of their ODI series so far.


Sri Lanka Team


MD Gunathilaka, WU Tharanga*, BKG Mendis, LD Chandimal†, DAS Gunaratne, TAM Siriwardana, NLTC Perera, MDK Perera, S Prasanna, KMDN Kulasekara, RAS Lakmal


Bangladesh Team


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe Mortaza*, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman