AL candidate Golam Mostofa wins Gaibandha by-polls | 2017-03-22 |

AL candidate Golam Mostofa wins Gaibandha by-polls

Sun Online Desk     22nd March, 2017 09:22:18 printer

AL candidate Golam Mostofa wins Gaibandha by-polls

Awami League candidate Golam Mostofa has won Gaibandha-1(Sundarganj) by-poll unofficially.


Golam Mostofa bagged 90,171 votes while his nearest candidate from Jatiya Party Barrister Shamim Haider Patwari got some 60,100 votes.


A total of 3,33,426 voters cast their ballots at 637 booths of 109 polling centres. Of the voters, 1,62,540 are male and 1,70,841 female.


The voting started from 8:00am and continued till 4:00pm in 109 polling centers of 15 unions amid tight security on Wednesday.


Seven candidates contested the by-polls. They are: Awami League’s Golam Mostafa Ahmed with the “boat” symbol, Jatiya Party's Shamim Hayder Patwari (plough), Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal’s Mohammad Ali Pramanik (flaming torch), Jatiya Party (Monju)'s Waheduzzaman (by-cycle), National People’s Party's Zia Zaman Khan (mango), Gonofront’s Sariful Islam (fish) and independent candidate Mostafa Mohsin (apple).


The by-election to Gaibandha-1 constituency that fell vacant following the murder of ruling Awami League MP Manzurul Islam Liton in December last year.