Balbuena to be honoured with 11th Asia Pacific Screen Awards | 2017-11-01 |

Balbuena to be honoured with 11th Asia Pacific Screen Awards

Culture Desk     1 November, 2017 12:00 AM printer

Balbuena to be honoured with 11th Asia Pacific Screen Awards

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) and International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF) announced the recipient of the prestigious APSA FIAPF Award as Filipina producer and writer Bianca Balbuena recently.

The Award will be presented to Balbuena during the 11th APSA Ceremony on November 23 in Brisbane, Australia.   This award, first presented at the inaugural APSAs in 2007, was established to celebrate a film practitioner from the region whose career and actions contribute strongly to the development of the Asia Pacific film industry and recipients are determined by FIAPF. Balbuena joins an esteemed group of APSA FIAPF Award recipients.

They are Manoochehr Mohammadi (Islamic Republic of Iran, 2016), Esaad Younis (Egypt, 2015), Emile Sherman (Australia 2014), Lee Choon-yun (Republic of Korea 2013), Ryuichi Sakamoto (Japan 2012), Zhang Yimou (People’s Republic of China 2011), Christine Hakim (Indonesia 2010), Isao Matsuoka (Japan 2009), Yash Chopra (India 2008) and Dr George Miller (Australia 2007).

Luis Alberto Scalella, President of FIAPF said “Bianca Balbuena is a multi-faceted producer whose films have premiered at, and won awards from, prestigious festivals including Berlin, Busan, Karlovy Vary, San Sebastián, Thessaloniki, Tokyo and Toronto. She has developed and produced the work of debut and emerging filmmakers, as well as established and acclaimed masters such as Lav Diaz.

Additionally, she has forged successful co-productions with countries and film industries as diverse as Australia, France, Malaysia, Singapore and Sweden. FIAPF is proud to honour a producer from Philippines for the first time. Bianca Balbuena is one of the most passionate and talented producers of her generation who thinks global when developing local content. In a few years she already made a remarkable contribution to the development of Asia Pacific cinema and we trust it is just a beginning.”

FIAPF Award recipient Bianca Balbuena said “I would like to thank Asia Pacific Screen Academy for continuing to hear and recognise our voices of struggle, oppression, dreams and hope. May we never get tired of telling stories.”